Usually not permanent, and PRP is rarely the answer. In trials 3 percent of people on Wegovy and 5.7 percent on top-dose Mounjaro reported hair loss, against 1 percent on placebo. Rapid weight loss triggers telogen effluvium, shedding that starts 2 to 4 months later and recovers once weight stabilises. PRP helps only where pattern loss sits underneath.
Key points
In the pivotal trials of semaglutide 2.4 mg, marketed as Wegovy, 3 percent of participants reported alopecia against 1 percent on placebo. Hair loss was not reported as a side effect in the lower-dose Ozempic trials for type 2 diabetes.
In the trial of tirzepatide for weight loss, 5.7 percent of participants on the highest 15 mg dose reported alopecia against 1 percent on placebo, and the manufacturer described it as generally short-lived.
By comparison, a review of 18 mostly observational studies found 57 percent of patients experienced hair loss after bariatric surgery, which supports the view that the trigger is the weight loss rather than the drug molecule.
A 2025 meta-analysis in Dermatology and Therapy of 43 randomised trials found PRP increases hair density in pattern hair loss. The only randomised evidence for PRP in telogen effluvium, the shedding weight loss causes, is a 30-patient pilot in the chronic form.
If your hair started shedding after starting a weight loss injection, message us on WhatsApp or email team@thewellnesslondon.com and a doctor will tell you whether it is the shedding that resolves or something PRP can treat.
What the trials actually recorded
The figures come from the licensing trials. In the STEP programme for semaglutide 2.4 mg, the dose sold as Wegovy, 3 percent of participants reported alopecia compared with 1 percent on placebo. In the trials of the lower semaglutide doses sold as Ozempic for type 2 diabetes, hair loss was not reported as a side effect at all, which is one clue that the amount of weight lost matters more than the molecule. In the SURMOUNT trial of tirzepatide, sold as Mounjaro, 5.7 percent of those on the highest 15 mg dose reported alopecia against 1 percent on placebo, with 4 to 5 percent across the 5 to 15 mg range, and Eli Lilly stated the hair loss seen was generally short-lived.
Two things follow. The absolute risk is low, and most people on these drugs do not lose hair. And the risk rises with dose and with the amount of weight lost, which is exactly what you would expect if the mechanism is the body's response to rapid weight change rather than a direct effect on the follicle. The comparison that makes the point is bariatric surgery, where a review of 18 studies found 57 percent of patients lost hair afterwards with no drug involved at all.
Why rapid weight loss makes hair fall out
Hair grows in cycles. At any moment most follicles are in a growth phase that lasts years, and a small share are in a resting phase before the hair sheds and a new one grows. A shock to the body, whether illness, surgery, childbirth, severe stress or a sudden calorie deficit, pushes a large number of follicles into the resting phase at once. Around 2 to 4 months later those hairs shed together. That is telogen effluvium, and losing 5 to 20 percent of body weight in 6 to 12 months while eating far less protein and fewer micronutrients than the body is used to is a textbook trigger.
The pattern is distinctive. Shedding is diffuse across the whole scalp rather than at the temples or crown, it starts 2 to 4 months after the drug was started or the dose was raised, the amount of hair in the brush or the shower rises from the normal 50 to 100 a day to several hundred, and the scalp underneath is not bald but thinner everywhere. It is alarming and it is temporary. The follicles are not damaged. Once weight stabilises and intake improves, regrowth typically appears within 6 to 12 months.
Send us a photograph of your parting and your brush on WhatsApp and a doctor will tell you whether the pattern fits telogen effluvium or something else.
What actually helps, and it is mostly not an injection
Telogen effluvium from weight loss is treated by removing the trigger and supporting regrowth, not by injecting the scalp. Protein intake is the first lever, since hair is protein and appetite suppression cuts it hardest. A doctor will often check ferritin, vitamin D, zinc, thyroid function and B12, because deficiencies that were borderline before the diet become frank during it and each of them independently causes shedding. Correcting a low ferritin does more for a shedding scalp than any regenerative treatment, which is why the hair loss blood panel comes before any treatment decision here.
Slowing the rate of weight loss, by holding a dose rather than escalating on schedule, is a conversation to have with the prescriber and is often the most effective single step. Minoxidil can shorten the recovery period in telogen effluvium and is a reasonable option in a prolonged case. What does not help is a course of PRP sold to someone whose follicles are resting rather than miniaturised, because PRP works by stimulating follicles that are shrinking under hormonal influence, and a resting follicle in telogen effluvium is not shrinking. It is waiting.
When PRP does have a role
There is one situation in which PRP belongs in this conversation, and it is common. Rapid weight loss unmasks pattern hair loss that was already there. A man with early crown thinning or a woman with a widening parting may have been losing hair slowly for years, and the shedding from the drug strips away the cover. When the telogen effluvium recovers, the pattern loss underneath does not, and that is a follicle problem PRP does treat.
The 2025 meta-analysis in Dermatology and Therapy of 43 randomised trials and 1,877 participants found activated PRP increased hair density and reduced recurrence in pattern hair loss compared with placebo. A 2024 meta-analysis of 14 studies and 431 patients put the average gain at around 27 hairs per square centimetre. That evidence applies to miniaturised follicles at the temples, crown or parting, not to diffuse shedding. A doctor who examines the scalp with a dermatoscope can usually tell the two apart, and the honest sequence is to let the shedding recover first, reassess at 6 months, and treat the pattern loss that remains.
A self-check for hair loss on weight loss medication
Work through this before booking any treatment, including here.
When did the shedding start relative to starting the drug or raising the dose. Telogen effluvium begins 2 to 4 months after the trigger.
Is the loss diffuse across the whole scalp, or concentrated at the temples, crown or parting. Diffuse fits shedding. Concentrated fits pattern loss.
Pull gently on a bunch of about 60 hairs. Losing 6 or more is a positive pull test and fits active shedding.
Is the scalp underneath thinner everywhere but not bald. That fits shedding. Bare skin at the crown or a widened parting fits pattern loss.
Have you had ferritin, vitamin D, zinc, B12 and thyroid function checked since starting the drug. If not, that is the first appointment.
How much protein are you eating. Below around 1 gram per kilogram of body weight a day, the hair is competing with everything else.
Has your dose been raised on schedule despite rapid loss. That is a conversation with your prescriber.
Our doctors put it this way. Shedding on a weight loss injection is the body budgeting, not the follicle dying. Feed it, check the bloods, slow the loss if you can, and let it recover. PRP is for the pattern loss that is still there afterwards, not for the shedding.
Message us on WhatsApp with when the shedding started, which drug and dose, and photographs, and a doctor will give you a straight answer.
What PRP does not do here
PRP does not stop acute telogen effluvium, has not been shown to shorten it in any trial, and does not replace the protein, the blood tests and the dose conversation that actually treat it. It does not regrow hair from follicles that were never miniaturised, and it does not fix a low ferritin. A clinic that sells a course of PRP to someone 3 months into a weight loss shed is treating the wrong diagnosis at the right price. PRP is not available on the NHS for hair loss and private medical insurance does not cover it. Where pattern hair loss is present underneath, PRP works best alongside minoxidil or finasteride, and a doctor should say which.
What treatments cost, and what the wrong one costs
Flagship Harley Street and Mayfair clinics commonly charge Β£600 to Β£850 or more per session of hair PRP, with a course of 3 taking a plan past Β£2,000. Private prescriptions for Wegovy typically cost Β£120 to Β£300 a month in the UK depending on dose, and Mounjaro Β£150 to Β£280 or more, so a patient on these drugs is already paying for treatment and is a natural target for a second product.
The reframing is the diagnosis. A hair loss blood panel and a doctor's examination cost a fraction of one PRP session and will, for most people shedding on a weight loss injection, show a deficiency to correct or confirm a shed that will recover on its own. Spending Β£2,000 on PRP for a scalp that would have recovered anyway is the expensive outcome, and it is the one a clinic without a doctor at the front is most likely to sell you.
Care at The London PRP Clinic by The Wellness is doctor-led and priced below flagship rates, with your exact figure confirmed at the free suitability review, which for hair loss on weight loss medication starts with the cause rather than the syringe.
Ask about the hair loss assessment on WhatsApp and we will explain what the review covers.
The free suitability review
Every enquiry here starts with a free, doctor-led suitability review rather than a booking. A GMC-registered doctor examines your scalp, takes a history that includes the drug, the dose and the rate of weight loss, arranges blood tests where they are needed, and gives one of two answers. Either you are approved for treatment, because pattern hair loss is present and PRP has a role, with a clear plan and realistic expectations, or you are not approved, with an honest explanation that the shedding will recover and what to do while it does.
We decline a meaningful share of the people who enquire. For hair loss on weight loss medication that share is high, because most of it is telogen effluvium and the right treatment is not ours to sell.
Why people choose The London PRP Clinic by The Wellness
87% of hair restoration patients at The London PRP Clinic show visible improvement at their week-16 photo review.
Every treatment performed by a GMC-registered doctor.
100 supervised treatments completed by every clinician before they treat a patient here unsupervised.
Frequently asked questions
Does Ozempic cause hair loss
Hair loss was not reported as a side effect in the Ozempic trials for type 2 diabetes. It was reported by 3 percent of people on the higher 2.4 mg dose sold as Wegovy, against 1 percent on placebo. The trigger is rapid weight loss causing temporary shedding, not the drug acting on the follicle.
Does Mounjaro cause hair loss
In the tirzepatide weight loss trial, 5.7 percent of people on the highest 15 mg dose reported alopecia against 1 percent on placebo, with 4 to 5 percent across the dose range. The manufacturer described it as generally short-lived. It is telogen effluvium from rapid weight loss and is usually temporary.
Is hair loss from weight loss injections permanent
Almost never. It is telogen effluvium, a shedding that begins 2 to 4 months after the trigger and recovers within 6 to 12 months once weight stabilises. The follicles are not damaged. Where hair does not fully recover, it is usually because pattern hair loss was present underneath.
How do I stop hair loss on Wegovy or Mounjaro
Eat enough protein, have ferritin, vitamin D, zinc, B12 and thyroid function checked, and discuss slowing dose escalation with your prescriber. Minoxidil can shorten recovery in a prolonged shed. Injections into the scalp do not treat telogen effluvium.
Does PRP help hair loss caused by Ozempic
Not the shedding itself. The only randomised evidence for PRP in telogen effluvium is a 30-patient pilot in the chronic form. PRP has 43 trials showing it increases density in pattern hair loss, so it helps when weight loss has unmasked thinning at the temples, crown or parting that persists after the shed recovers.
When should I see a doctor about hair loss on weight loss medication
If shedding continues beyond 6 months, if it is concentrated at the temples, crown or parting rather than diffuse, if the scalp is becoming visibly bare, or if you have symptoms of a deficiency such as fatigue or brittle nails. A blood panel and a dermatoscope examination settle most cases.
References
Semaglutide 2.4 mg licensing trial adverse event data, 3 percent alopecia versus 1 percent placebo, and tirzepatide trial data, 5.7 percent at 15 mg versus 1 percent placebo, as reported by The Hospitalist. https://community.the-hospitalist.org/content/does-ozempic-cause-hair-loss
NBC News, 2023. Weight loss drugs and hair loss, including the manufacturer statement that tirzepatide-associated hair loss was generally short-lived. https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-news/weight-loss-drugs-and-hair-loss-rcna79798
Review of 18 studies finding 57 percent of patients experienced hair loss after bariatric surgery, as reported by The Hospitalist. https://community.the-hospitalist.org/content/does-ozempic-cause-hair-loss
Dermatology and Therapy, 2025. Platelet-rich plasma in the management of alopecia, a systematic review and meta-analysis of 43 randomised controlled trials and 1,877 participants. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s13555-025-01542-8
2024. Is autologous platelet-rich plasma capable of increasing hair density in patients with androgenic alopecia, a systematic review and meta-analysis of 14 studies and 431 patients. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC11551241/
Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprology, 2023. Ezz El-Dawla et al. Evaluation of the safety and efficacy of platelet-rich plasma in the treatment of female patients with chronic telogen effluvium, a randomised, controlled, double-blind pilot clinical trial of 30 women. https://ijdvl.com/?p=22802
Medino, 2026. Wegovy cost per month UK, 2026 guide, including comparable Mounjaro pricing. https://www.medino.com/article/wegovy-cost-per-month-uk-2026-guide
London clinic price lists for hair PRP, accessed September 2026.
This article is for general information and does not replace a medical assessment. Do not change the dose of a prescribed medicine without speaking to your prescriber. Speak to one of our doctors before deciding on any hair loss treatment.